By: Lebohang Maluke

Maseru – Lesotho secures amazing victory 2-0 over Zimbabwe for 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying match at Orland Stadium in Soweto, Johannesburg, South Africa Friday.

Likuena climbs to the top Group C standing while the Warriors remain 6th position on the table.

Lesotho will host second-place Rwanda on 11th June.

Likuena defends well in the latter stage of the encounter with coach Leslie Notsi making a tactical change – pulling out striker Motebang Sera and replacing him with Teboho Letsema. Ultimately, the match 2-0 victory in favour of Lesotho wiliness to contain Zimbabwe.

“Likuena victory is more than just a win on the pitch; it is a symbol of national pride, a beacon of hope in uncertain time.” Tokonye Daniel says, as a supporter of Likuena. 

Zimbabwe, surged forward in numbers as to look to matter level, but they are left back vulnerable. Likuena players doubled their lead after Lehlohonolo Fothoane played a lovely pass to Jane Thabantso who fired past goalkeeper Bernard Donovan in the 31st minutes and Lesotho lead 2-0 halftime.

Tlou Makhoabenyane declares, “Likuena victory over Zimbabwe supports belief in the strength and skills of our team, Likuena will emerge victorious in the next match. This is not just about winning a game; this is a beginning of the united form of our nation together in a shared sense of pride and joy.

However, the Warriors dominated post session from the start, Likuena looks dangerous whenever they push forward. Lesotho took 1-0 lead in the 21st minutes when Rasethuntsa hit the back of the net with Thabo Matsoele providing the assistance.

The Warriors introduce Walter, launch attack after the restart and coach in 68th minutes.

The Simba Bhora attackers draw 1-1 with stunning goal as Zimbabwe drew 1-1 with Nigeria in a Group C encounter previous year.

Lesotho (2) (Rasethunt’sa 21’ and Thabantso 31’).

Zimbabwe (0) 0.

Lesotho XL: Moerane, Malane, Makhele, Rasethunt’sa, Matsoele, Lebokollane, Matsau (Lesaoana 64’), Sefali, Thabant’so, and Sera (Letsema 82’).

Zimbabwe XI: Donovan, Mbeba, Takwara, Hadela, Lunga, Munetsi, Rinomhaota, Chirawa (W. Musona 68’), Zema (Maswanhise 46’), and Kadewere (Machope 46’).