By Thoboloko Ntšonyane

MASERU – The leader of the Opposition and former Deputy Prime Minister Hon Mathibeli Mokhothu is enjoying the majority support of the majority of Members of Parliament (MPs) in the National Assembly necessary to form a new government as evidenced on Monday and Tuesday this week.

These legislators have aligned themselves as supporters of the Qhoali MP to become the next Prime Minister of Lesotho and consequently unseat the incumbent Rt Hon Ntsokoane Matekane.

The MPs who have thrown their weight behind Mokhothu are 61 and these are for both ruling parties and the opposition.

In a correspondence made to the Speaker of the National Assembly Rt Hon Tlohang Sekhamane yesterday, the 61 MPs constituting the majority required to form a government had asked the Speaker to apprise the Council of State of the ‘new configuration of numbers’.

“Please find attached herewith sixty-one (61) Members of Parliament which constitute the new configuration of numbers in the National Assembly in support of Honourable Mathibeli Mokhothu as a new Prime Minister.

“We beseech you to make the numbers known to the Council of State and office of His Majesty,” reads their letter.

These MPs who have also appended their signatures in this letter are Hons. ‘Mabafokeng Mpobole,  ‘Makhahliso Mosoeunyane, ‘Maleleka Malakane, ‘Maleshota Leshota, ‘Mamarame Matela, ‘Mamoipone Senauoane, ‘Mamookho Phiri, ‘Manthabiseng Maeea, ‘Manyaneso Taole, ‘Maoshoa Mpeoa, ‘Marefuoe ‘Muso, ‘Mathabo Seatile, ‘Matiisetso Matsie, ‘Mope Khati, Advocate Lekhetho Rakuoane, Agath Tšoanamatsie, Bataung Makhakhe, Dr. Mahali Phamotse, Monyane Moleleki, Dr. Pinki Manamolela, Dr. Tšepo Lipholo, Hilda Vanrooyen, Hlalele Letšaba, Jane Lekunya, Katleho Mabeleng, Kobeli Letlailana, Lebohang Hlaele, Lebohang Monaheng, Lehlohonolo Hlapisi, Lehlohonolo Mosoang, Lephoi Makara, Letsekang Moloi, Machesetsa Mofomobe, Maimane Maphathe, Malefane Mabote, Mathibeli Mokhothu, Mohau Hlalele. Mohlabula Busa, Mohlominyane Tota, MOkherane Tsatsanyane, Mokoto Hloaele, Montoeli Masoetsa, Mootsi Lehata,Motlalepula Khahloe, Motlatsi Maqelepo,  Nkaku Kabi, Peiso Kelane, Prof Nqosa Mahao, Ramosa Ramaisa, Rantšitlile Ramone, Remaketse Sehlabaka, Rethabile Nalane, Rev Paul Masiu, Teboho Mojapela. Tefo Mapesela, Thabiso Lekitla, Thuso Makhalanyane, Tšepo Mosotho, Tšeliso Nkoefoshe, and Tšitso Cheba.

On Monday when the August House was about to hear the debates on the motion of no confidence in the government, the Speaker deferred it as one of the Revolution for Prosperity (RFP) MPs, Hon Lejone Puseletso had filed a constitutional case challenging the said motion before the completion of the ongoing national reforms. The opposition had promised to counter this case and said they would request for an urgent hearing while the petitioner asked the court to hear it on October 30.

This motion would be moved by the Basotho National Party (BNP) leader Hon Machesetsa Mofomobe who is seconded by the main opposition DC Hon Mootsi Lehata.

The parties endorsing the motion of no confidence in government are ABC, BAP, BCM, BNP, BPP, Baena, DC, PFD, SR, UFC, MPS, NIP, and SR.

If these attempts to remove Matekane from office, he will be the first PM to have been removed with only a year in office. He was sworn in following the October 7 general elections last year on March 28.