• Hits: 294

Lasa voting race nears end

1 photo


The Lesotho Annual Sports Awards (Lasa) voting process will come to an end by the close of the day tomorrow, March 15 2017, three days ahead to the awards giving ceremony to be held on Saturday, March 18 2017 at Avani Maseru.

The awards are being organized by Lesotho Sports and Recreation Commission (LSRC) in a bid to recognize, embrace and reward all Basotho who are excelling in their respective sports disciplines.

 The voting was process which is via sms, is only for the Sports Star of the Year; Sports Journalist of the Year; and Sports Show of the Year categories. Winners in other categories will be decided by the evaluation panel.

LSRC Development assistant manager ‘Malitsietsi Zwakala confirmed to Informative Sport that tomorrow is the last day for voting. She said the commission was happy with the commitment of the public in making votes to make the awards a success.

The last voting update was released by the LSRC on Tuesday last week and the update revealed that the favourite Sports Star of the Year by then was Boitumelo Rabale was leading with 40.57% while Itumeleng Maseatile followed at 30.27%; Toka Badboy 13.15%; Phetetso Monese 11.41%; Tšepang Sello 4.28% and Teboho Khantsi 0.32%.

In the Sport Show of the Year category, PC FM Sports Show was topping with 54.55 %, Radio Lesotho Sports Show was following with 45.45% while both Sports Buzz and Tšenolo FM Sport Show had no votes by then.

In the Sports Journalist of the Year category Seephephe ‘Pepper’ Mahao was on top with 61.15%, Thapelo Mabote was second with 22.3%; Mohau Soro followed with 16:55% while Tšeliso Tale was trailing with 0%, but the winners for all categories will be announced at the ceremony.

The awards carry a total of 18 categories that recognise individuals (males and females), people with disability, national and international participants, national federations, schools, media, sports legends, and community sport builders. 

All the categories are being recognised from January 2016 to December 2016 except for the Sport Legends Awards.

The awards will also will be carried along with the Ministry of Gender Youth, Sports and Recreation Minister’s awards for the Lesotho Medalist from African Union Sports Council (AUSC) Region 5 Under 20 Youth Games held in Angola last year.

List of categories: Junior Female and Junior Male Sportsperson of the Year; Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year; Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability; Newcomer of the Year; Administrator of the Year; Volunteer of the Year; National Federation of the Year; Sports School of the Year; Sports Team of the Year; Coach of the Year; Umpire/Referee of the Year; Sports Journalist of the Year; Sports Show of the Year; Sport Legacy Awards (8); and Sports Star of the Year.

Featured News


US Embassy awards over M 220k in grants

US Embassy awards over M 220k …

25 April, 2017

The U.S. Embassy in Maseru through the BAM Group Foundation and with the help of the U.S...


THE SELF CONCEPT:   Impact of belief and perception on self-esteem (Part 2)


25 April, 2017

Weisinger (PhD) reveals that confidence gives one an edge because, those that wield it b...


Yesterday is still important- By. Ted Msipa

Yesterday is still important- …

25 April, 2017

People are an interesting lot. They always come up with something juicy and controversia...


Voter apathy worries NGOs

Voter apathy worries NGOs

25 April, 2017

MASERU- Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) around the country joined hands with other...